No-Bake Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache Swirl

Around a year ago I was introduced to the delicious world of no-bake cheesecakes when a friend of mine had made a no-bake raspberry coulis cheesecake. I’ve always loved cheesecake and probably been the only one in the family who did (until now), but I had only made cheesecake once when I was younger where I had to eat most of it simply because the rest of the family wasn’t a huge fan. After tasting this no-bake cheesecake I decided it was time to give cheesecake baking (in this case not-baking) another chance. The cheesecake was light, creamy and super delicious and on top of all, that very simple to make! Since then I have made the raspberry version many times, and even though that version also tastes delicious, today I want to share my version of the cheesecake: The chocolate swirl version!

No bake cheesecake with chocolate ganache swirl

As you probably have already discovered, I have an obsession with chocolate. For years all my friends knew that the way to my heart was through giving me loads of chocolate and it always worked! So whenever there is a chocolate dessert around, I naturally get more excited than I probably should and sometimes if not always I usually end up giving myself a chocolate overload. I guess it’s for this reason that most of the desserts I make end up being chocolate desserts without realising. So combining my two loves, cheesecake and chocolate seemed like the perfect idea. I also know this cheesecake is good since my brother, who usually doesn’t like cheesecake, ended up listing it as “the second best dessert you have ever made” with the chocolate macarons in the lead.

No bake cheesecake with chocolate ganache swirl

No-Bake Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache Swirl

Ingredients:

  • 150gr chocolate biscuits (any plain chocolate biscuits will work)
  • 75gr butter, melted
  • 500 gr cream cheese, at room tempreture (I used the light Philadelphia)
  • 300 ml thickened cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 60ml boiling water
  • 3 teaspoons unflavoured gelatine powder

See chocolate ganache recipe here

Directions

  • Using an 8 inch round springform pan, cut out a round piece of baking paper enough to cover the base of the pan.
  • In a food processor, process the biscuits into fine crumbs then add the melted butter and process until the crumbs resemble wet sand
  • Empty the biscuit mixture into the pan and press it down firmly to cover the entire base of the pan
  • If you find there is too much mixture for the base, you can save the excess to sprinkle between the layers of the cheesecake.
  • Place the base into the refrigerator while making the filling.
  • Using the recipe above, make the chocolate ganache and place in the fridge to allow it to cool
  • In a small bowl, dissolve the gelatine powder in the water as directed on the packaging and set aside for a few minutes.
  • In the mean time in another bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar until the sugar is thoroughly blended and the mixture becomes creamy
  • Add in the cream, lemon juice and vanilla then beat until combined.
  • Finally, add in the gelatine and beat until the gelatine mixture has been evenly distributed throughout the batter. I suggest you beat immediately after adding the gelatine to avoid any lumps of gelatine setting inside the cheesecake.
  • Pour 1/3 of the filling on the base and distribute it evenly. Then drizzle some of the chocolate ganache over the layer
  • Repeat this process until you are left with the cheese filling top layer then pour the rest of the chocolate ganache to cover the entire top of the cheesecake.
  • I suggest using half the chocolate ganache inside the cheesecake and the other half on top, so ensure you have enough chocolate ganache to cover the top.
  • Refrigerate the cheesecake for at least 6 hours or overnight to allow the gelatine to set.

ENJOY!

No bake cheesecake with chocolate ganache swirl

One thought on “No-Bake Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache Swirl

Leave a Reply

