Mum’s Speciality Chocolate Cake

When I think about my earliest memory of baking, there is that one certain cake that always pops into my mind. The one which I had seen my mother bake so many times that it was always intriguing to try. It always amazed me as to how she got it so moist, chocolately and super delicious! Once I got my hands onto the not so secret recipe, it was my number one cake (and only cake I knew how to make) that I used for anything. I would layer it with whipped cream or cover it with chocolate pudding and serve it to the family on any special occasion. Of course this was before I had any knowledge about the endless possibilities of other rich chocolate cakes which used lots of butter and other delicious things. Needless to say, I didn’t even know that most cakes were made with a butter base because mum had always chosen to go the some what ‘healthier’ and ‘lighter’ versions of cakes.

Even though my knowledge of cakes and various recipes has expanded considerably, I still sometimes find my self enjoying this simple yet delicious cake from time to time. It reminds me of my childhood and my mums baking. It is still a staple cake that mum occasionally makes for guests and it is the perfect cake to accompany a Turkish family’s nightly çay vakti (tea time).

Chocolate cake food dessert photography

Self-saucing Chocolate Cake:

Ingredients:

  •    3 Eggs
  •   1  1/2 cups sugar
  •    1  1/2 cups milk
  •    1/2 cup vegetable oil
  •    2 tablespoons dark unsweetened cocoa powder
  •    2  1/2 cups self raising flour
  •    1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 160°C (320°F) with the tray in the centre. Grease a rectangle cake tin 11 x 14″ and put it aside. (I use the black oven tray that comes with most ovens).
  • In a bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar with an electric mixer for appox. 3-5 mins or until the mixture is pale white and doubled in volume.
  • Add in the vegetable oil, milk and vanilla extract and beat for another 30 seconds or until the ingredients are combined.
  • Sift in the cocoa powder and beat the mixture just until combined.
  • From this chocolate mixture separate 1 cup aside for later use. This will later be used as the chocolate sauce on top.
  • Sift in the flour and beat until combined.
  • Pour the batter into the tray and bake for approx. 30-35 mins or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. The cooking time may vary based on the oven used.
  • Cool the cake for a couple of mins then with a sharp knife cut the cake into equal square pieces. Mix the sauce that was separated from the cake batter making sure there are no lumps. Evenly distribute the sauce over the whole cake with a spoon making sure each slice is moistened with the sauce.
  • Once it is cooled sprinkle shredded coconut over the cake.

Self sauce  light chocolate cake

The chocolate sauce moistens the cake incredibly and adds extra chocolate flavor which I love! It also saves the hassle of separately making a sauce to go with the cake. You can also make a warm chocolate pudding and serve with the cake which ticks all boxes of chocolate heaven goodness! This cake is just a great option when your looking for a quick, easy and light cake that still tastes great after a few days.

Self saucing chocolate cake

One thought on “Mum’s Speciality Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: Best Black Forest Cake | Best Black Forest Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

